Library conferencing style: Double the fun

The last two weeks, my friend and fellow librarian, Amy, and I have attended two library conferences together. Information literacy forever! ♥ Wait, where was I… oh yes, style! ;) Conference wear is always a little tricky, as you want to be comfortable yet stylish but also not like you’re trying too hard.

Library Conference #1:

Amy and I didn’t think to get pictures of ourselves while at this regional conference in Bend, Oregon (we were obviously distracted by the beautiful scenery!), but I recreated what I could remember with Polyvore inspiration boards.

Library conferencing: Jen

The first night was a get-together at a local restaurant (with the conference sessions starting the next day), so I mixed in a bit of casual with the Pride & Prejudice-themed sweatshirt and a bit of professional with the red ankle pants. My go-to combo of skinny jeans + blazer worked just fine for the all-day sessions.

Library Conferencing: Amy

Amy’s personal style is more edgy and cool. She wore a graphic t-shirt — not this exact one, but this Target t-shirt has a similar muted vibe — under a more structured cardigan to amp up the professional side.

Library Conference #2.1:

And now for actual photos! Amy and I always have so.much.fun together, and Sam was happy just to be there to capture the craziness.

Librarian for Life & Style:  Double the fun

I was so touched when Amy said she used my go-to formula of skinny jeans + blazer + patterned top as inspiration for her first-day conference outfit. :D My favorite bit is the brooch on her tweedy blazer. And as you can see, I brought out my red ankle pants again, following one of the inspiration boards I put together for this eShakti polka-dotted top.

Librarian for Life & Style:  Double the fun

Library Conference, #2.2:

On our first day at this state library conference, I saw lots of bright florals and graphic prints. So I took a different route for my second-day outfit, recycling one of my favorite looks with a bright floral tunic and wide-leg trousers. (It also helped that I didn’t have to pack a suitcase for this conference, as it was only a short distance away. So I didn’t really “plan” my outfits in advance like I normally do for conferences, to maximize suitcase space.)

Librarian for Life & Style:  Double the fun

And I love Amy’s blending here of cool and classic pieces. How fab are those red wedge flats and that top with the deconstructed houndstooth pattern?! I also liked how we echoed each other across the two days with our black, red, and white combos. Twinsies! ♥

Librarian for Life & Style:  Double the fun

Thanks, Amy, for your willingness to share your style on my blog!

Did y’all enjoy double the librarian style? Please leave a comment and let me know. :)

Link ups:  Style Sessions  /  Real Girl Style  /  Anything + Everything Blog Hop

11 thoughts on “Library conferencing style: Double the fun

  1. Amber

    Loving the double librarian style going on here! Sometimes we librarians don’t present ourselves in the most flattering ways at conferences (long denim skirts and white tennis shoes, I’m looking at you), so thanks to both of you for helping to break those stereotypes!

    Reply
  2. Carrie

    Cute, comfy and stylish! Yay for a double dose of librarian style. :) That tunic and Amy’s deconstructed houndstooth print shirt are lovely! :)

    Reply
  3. Adrienne

    The pics are adorable!! Totally made me smile! Love the style!!
    Would love to have ya’ll linkup with me for week 2 of my new blog hop called Trending Pretty, if you’d like!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: What librarians wear on a girls’ day out | Librarian for Life and Style

Leave a Reply

