Day-to-night maxidressing

Happy Monday! And I sure would appreciate it if you would take a moment and vote for your favorite outfit of mine for July. Thanks in advance!

And as promised last week, here are photos from our anniversary day. And what a fabulous day it was! We started the day by visiting the Portland Art Museum and finished up with an excellent  four-course dinner & wine pairings at Natural Selection.

I wanted to wear my new maxidress for the special occasion. And since we woke up to weather that had turned a bit colder and off-and-on rainy overnight (it’s Portland, y’all, it happens), I decided to wear this long-sleeved maxidress for the entire day — and turn it into a day-to-night kind of style post. :)

Day-to-night maxidressing

During the day:

For the casual variation, I added colorful accessories, including a teal patent leather belt with a gold heart buckle, teal studs and big hoop earrings, and my canvas colorblock tote. I pulled my air-dried hair into a simple side ponytail. I also mixed two lip stains to play off the bright berry color of the maxidress.

Librarian for Life & Style  |  Day-to-night maxidressing

Librarian for Life & Style  |  Day-to-night maxidressing

And halfway through our quick photoshoot in front of the museum, I realized how cute my striped makeup bag looked with this dress, so I took the small bag out of my purse and posed for a few photos using it as a clutch, below. This makeup bag came as a set with this bigger striped tote bag, seen here, that my mom recently gifted me.

Librarian for Life & Style  |  Day-to-night maxidressing

Details:  Long-sleeved maxidress:  Old Navy, gift-carded last month  /  Gold-and-tan sandals:  Target, last summer  /  Teal skinny belt:  JCPenney, gift-carded in spring  /  Hoop earrings:  InPink, c/o giveaway last year  /  Teal studs:  Local boutique, winter  /  Canvas tote bag:  Gift from my mom, spring  /  Striped makeup bag:  Gift from my mom, summer  /  Vintage sunglasses:  My mom’s, prescription updated this spring

And here’s my handsome husband outside the museum. Later, for our night out, he layered a grey blazer and blue pocket square over this navy gingham shirt.

Librarian for Life & Style  |  Day-to-night maxidressing

Details:  Blue gingham button-down:  Target, fall  /  Grey trousers:  Old Navy, fall  /  Black slip-ons:  Kohl’s, new

For a night out:

So for our dinner out, I switched to metallic silver accessories, including a layered silver necklace, dangly earrings, a silver sequined clutch, and my pewter sandals. I also put the matching fabric belt back on the dress but tied it in the back, so as not to distract from the statement jewelry in the front.

Librarian for Life & Style  |  Day-to-night maxidressing

Details:  Maxidress:  Old Navy, gift-carded last month  /  Pewter sandals:  Target, spring  /  Silver necklace & earrings:  My paternal grandmother’s  /  Sequined clutch:  Origem, Abu Dhabi, old

Librarian for Life & Style  |  Day-to-night maxidressing

For the hair, I kept the side ponytail but added quick ‘n’ easy side braids, which I then wrapped around the ponytail base and pinned. An easy upgrade to a basic side ponytail.

Librarian for Life & Style  |  Day-to-night maxidressing

Librarian for Life & Style  |  Day-to-night maxidressing

I really like this maxidress, especially the deep, rich color and the sort of slouchy feel to the neckline and sleeves. It’ so comfortable to wear and versatile because it’s easy to dress up or down. Ultimately, I felt pretty and feminine, just right for our special day.

Link ups:  Funday Monday  /  Monday Mingle  /  Monday Bloom  /  Trend Spin Linkup  /  Look What I Got  /  Friday Favorites Remix  /  Friday’s Fancies

12 thoughts on “Day-to-night maxidressing

  1. Katie

    I like the fuschia and yellow together in the day look – super summery!

    I always sort of sigh wistfully at the hairdo’s bloggers come up with. I keep mine in this short bob most of the time, because my hair makes its own choices and hairdo’s just never happen. So I must live vicarious through everyone else. Ah, well.

    Reply
    1. Jen @ Librarian for Life and Style

      Thanks Katie! That’s the beauty of style blogs, right, living vicariously through others, and getting inspiration? And being inspired by Kate Middleton and her gorgeous hair is what kept me going through the two years of growing out my own bob! I had never really enjoyed long hair before, so it’s fun to be experimenting more with it now. :)

      Reply
    1. Jen @ Librarian for Life and Style

      Thanks so much, Katie! I want the one in navy now, too! Some reviewers online didn’t like the sleeves (one described them as short sleeves with extra sleeves attached), but I actually do like the slouchy, kind of dolman-type sleeves. Also, another reviewer noted that the skirt doesn’t allow for longer strides for us taller ladies, but it wasn’t THAT big of a hassle for me. And the material is quite stretchy. Hope this helps! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

